Ingredients To Watch Out For As A Vegan

Fake Meat

Not All Fake Meat Is Vegan

If you are eating vegan (meaning NO animal products) you will find that animal products are often hidden in strange places. This is especially true for packaged and processed food.  

ALWAYS check the labels. Even many veggie burgers or other “fake meat” products include animal products. Companies also change the ingredients from time to time. Just because it is vegan today doesn’t mean it will always be vegan. 

Below is a list of the things that you need to watch out for on the ingredient labels.

Animal Based Label Items to Avoid (often seen in packaged goods)

  • Casein – A milk protein that is often in items marked “non-dairy”
  • Ghee – Clarified butter-common in Indian food
  • Albumen – protein found in egg whites
  • Oleic acid – fat from sheep or cattle
  • Rennin/Rennet – enzymes from a calf’s stomach
  • Calcium Stearate – a mineral derived from hogs and cattle
  • Gelatin – protein from animal bones, cartilage, tendons, and skin
  • Glyerides (mono/di/tri) – glycerol from animal fats
  • Stearic acid – animal fats and oils
  • Lecithin – phospholipids often from animal tissues and eggs
  • Pepsin – enzymes gathered from pigs stomachs

The best way to avoid these ingredients is to eat whole foods such as fresh fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds and grains. However, I know that especially when you are new to veganism, vegan meat and dairy substitutes can be a helpful transition food while you are getting used to eating in a different way. 

Fortunately there are many VEGAN alternatives. Many are even available in your local grocery store. Here is PETA’s list of their Favorite Vegan Substitutes.

Opt In Image
Say Goodbye To Boring!
Free E-Book Download

I love great food don't you? No boring dishes allowed in my kitchen! I want to share my secrets with you.

- My favorite international spice and seasoning combinations
- The top 10 ingredients absolutely I must have in my kitchen
- How to use vegan substitutes for meat and dairy products
- And Much More!


Click the button to get your copy.

Ama Opare on EmailAma Opare on InstagramAma Opare on PinterestAma Opare on Twitter
Ama Opare
Lifestyle Coach, CEO at Opare Institute
Helping my coaching clients go from vegan wanna-be to Unshakably Vegan! From meal-time boredom to loving what they eat. From self-sabotage to taking control. From tempted by all the wrong choices in their non-vegan world to making the right decisions. And from sick and tired to vibrant and healthy. Discover your personal recipe for success and abundant health! BE UNSHAKABLE!

3 Comments on “Ingredients To Watch Out For As A Vegan

Vegan-ize Your Favorite Recipies
09/09/2013 at 5:42 pm

[…] Always read labels. Even veggie products sometimes contain animal products. Products that once were vegan may be changed and animal ingredients added. For a list of ingredients to watch out for check out my post Ingredients To Watch Out For As A Vegan. […]

Randi (laughfrodisiac)
09/05/2013 at 8:33 pm

Such a helpful post! There are so many weird ingredients that not many people realize are animal-derived.

I hate to be the person who points out a typo, but it’s just such a good one that I thought it would be ok — you wrote “Just because it is vegan today doesn’t meat it will always be vegan.” Actually, that’s probably on purpose, it’s so perfect! 🙂

Ama Opare
09/05/2013 at 8:42 pm

LOL! Thanks Randi! It’s fixed now.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.